bad dotted quad

That is the error message you will get from ISC Bind (DNS) when you have something wrong with a lookup file. In my case it was a problem with my reverse lookup zone file. I had made the reverse records A records instead PTR (pointer) records. Fixed that and it started working!

From doing research on my issue, this can also happen for missing a period or using a comma instead of a period, etc. To me the error message is a bad description for my problem. My dots were okay, it was just the record types. think they should change it.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “bad dotted quad”

  1. Edd Says:

    Thank you so much man, that helped!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

